Two Wheels

There is no better feeling, than when I’m free wheeling,

Past traffic and speeding, down streets that are leading,

me from A to B

my bike and me

 

Perfectly in sync – I don’t need to think

about what I am doing, my legs keep on moving

speeding up slowing down

till my feet hit the ground

 

Dodging puddles and potholes, taxis and buses.

Fair-weather cyclists are all just wusses.

I’m out in the sun, fog, snow and rain.

Unflattering waterproofs are more than a pain.

 

But it is all worth it, to experience the joy

and realise a bike is more than a toy.

It’s my mode of transport, my way to see places,

down side streets and allies, take in people’s faces.

 

No road rage, pushing, queueing along with the masses,

Spend half of my salary on train and bus passes

No need for a timetable, not restricted to bus routes,

I go when I’m able, any time that suits

 

If there is a strike

I hop on my bike

anytime I like

and pedal…

3 thoughts on “Two Wheels

Leave a comment